I was splitting my time between two apartments last week. I was dogsitting for a friend and instead of living in one place well, I was living in two places badly. Both places were a mess for some time (my schedule didn’t provide me much time at either place as well, so that didn’t help) and my life felt completely disorganized.

My life was a bit chaotic but really, when you come home to this face, it’s hard not to smile:

This is Howard.

Here are a few more for your ooing and aahing pleasure. Sorry they are not the best, but it’s hard to get a 12-week-old puppy to sit still for the camera. (He’s golden retriever and border colly, in case you were wondering.)

The black dog is Samish. She’s 8 and one of the coolest and smartest dogs I’ve ever known. This is how I saw Howard and Sam interact for most of the week. I didn’t mind it except when it was early in the morning or on the couch next to me.

My life is back to living in one apartment now. I’m hoping I’ll be able to master “the art of living in one place well.” From the looks of my place right now, it’s going to take some time (and lots of cleaning).

