So this is going to sound weird and might paint me in a strange light, but I had no idea I had wavy hair. I discovered this completely by accident last night. Let me explain a little bit.

Growing up, I always wanted curly hair, but was stuck with straight (or semi-straight) hair. And even worse, it wouldn’t hold a curl. I remember spending hours sitting while my mom gave me perms, only to have them fall out in a few weeks. I’d noticed as I got older that my hair was getting kinda more wavy, but still wouldn’t really do anything. I’ve been growing my hair out and it’s getting decently long, so I’ve just been blow drying it and then straightening it every day– definitely not good for the hair, lots of breakage going on.

This brings me to yesterday. I had a lazy Sunday that included not taking a shower until about 2pm. My church starts at 6pm, so I took a shower, then laid down to take a nap. I towel dried my hair for a little bit, but didn’t brush it or do anything before I laid down. When I woke up, my hair was decently dry and … wavy!! I was astonished! I had no idea! As I contemplated how I had no idea my hair was wavy, I came to the conclusion that it’s because one of the first things I do when I get out of the shower is to brush or comb my hair, which straightens it a bit but also makes it frizzy when I let it airdry that way, and never gave it a chance to dry with a wave. So, I put some mousse in it and called it a day and saw how it held up for a few hours at church. I went to church and even got compliments on the new look!

I wore it like that to work today — it really couldn’t be faster, I dunked my hair under water, let it air dry a bit without brushing, added some mousse and some hair spray and shazzam, Rachel’s done with her hair! Fantastic!

I tried to take a picture, but none really turned out all that great, but I didn’t want to leave you hanging, so you’ll have to bear with the somewhat grainy pic from my webcam and the fact that it was shot in my bathroom (it had the best light). But here you have it! (And this is after a full day’s work!)


