Have you ever finished a book that was so good that the idea of reading another one would seem a disservice to the first? That’s how I feel after finishing Eric Metaxas’ biography of Dietrich Bonhoeffer, “Bonhoeffer: Pastor, Prophet, Martyr, Spy.” It’s going to take me a while to be able to read another book; I need to digest the power of this one for a bit.

I’m not going to expound on the details of this man’s life here, but I urge you with every fiber of my being to find a copy of this book and read it. It’s frustrating, hopeful, encouraging, and saddening, but all together, a story of a man who held to his convictions in the toughest of circumstances (opposing Hitler and the Third Reich), even to the death. He lived with such an overpowering faith and transparency throughout his entire life that it allowed him to pronounce his love for his Father and Savior in the direst of times and to be light in the darkest of dark. And when he was finally faced with death said, “This is the end … For me the beginning of life.”

I may just pick it up and read it again.

