My apartment has leprosy. Part of my Week 1 requirement (see here to figure out what I’m talking about) was to make a list of repairs and to complete them. Well, I did have a list and I did fix some things, but one “fix” left my apartment looking a little sick.

Spackle is fun. But, if you don’t have the paint to paint over the spackle once you’re done, well, you’re left with a leprous apartment. I tried to take a picture of this, but the contrast of the spackle and my wall color (which is a beige) couldn’t be detected with my camera in the light I had. But, take my word for it, my walls have white spots. It’s okay though, I know it’s only temporary. I talked with my building’s manager and he’s going to get me some paint (or even better, potentially, get some people to paint my entire apartment).

All right, so with the spackling out of the way, there are a few more repairs I need to make, but I did complete all of the other requirements for week one. I didn’t buy flowers, but a friend of mine gave me some (tonight actually) as a Congratulations for my new job. So, I now have flowers in my apartment, just under the wire for week one.

I have to say, I had a ton of fun in my apartment this week. I’m not going to post pictures yet because I want to get it a bit more complete, but they’ll be coming! My apartment is finally starting to feel like a home, which I’m stoked about.

All right, here’s what’s up for Week Two:

1. Fix one thing in your apartment yourself.
2. Clean your kitchen from top to bottom and throw away old food.
3. Buy a water filter and use it.
4. Run your hands over every wall in your apartment.
5. Clear space for an Outbox.
6. Clear one surface and use the Outbox.
7. Buy fresh flowers.
8. Determine your style.
9. Find a new recipe and cook one meal at home.
10. Choose the date for your housewarming.

Lots to do this week! But first on my mind is my new job! Thursday is the day!

