Hey! I don’t know about your neck of the woods, but it is fall in Seattle! We have had crisp, clear days followed by crisp, cool nights — and I LOVE it!

When I was over at my aunt and uncles, in eastern Washington (land of apples, apples, and more apples, as well as cherries, and grapes, oh and carrots–yeah, it’s farm country!) this weekend I brought home a bag of 7 HUGE apples. So, I immediately thought of apple bread! One of my favorites for fall is apple bread, but since I’ve been trying to live a vegan-ish lifestyle, I wasn’t sure what I’d come up with for a recipe (and what type of weird ingredients it would have!). But a quick google search of “vegan apple bread” brought several to my attention. I clicked on the first link and that’s the recipe I went with — it was fast, didn’t have any crazy ingredients and turned out really well!!

The recipe is below, but first a few of the changes I made … I only had to use one apple because it was so big (so I’ll probably make another batch of this–or two–to get rid of some more apples). Instead of an egg, to make it vegan, I used half of a ripe banana. This worked really well and only brought a hint of banana flavor to the final product. I didn’t have walnuts, so I just cut up the remainder of the apple (yes, it was that big!) into chunks and threw those in.
Overall the bread turned out really well! It’s a good first taste of fall. Now onto something pumpkin!
Apple Bread

1 1/2 c. whole wheat flour
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp ground nutmeg
1 c. supar
1 c. shredded, peeled apple
1/4 c. cooking oil(I used canola oil)
1/2 ripe banana (or you could use 1 egg)
1/4 tsp lemon peel
1/2 to 1 cup apple chunks (or walnuts)

Grease 8x4x2 bread pan. Preheat oven at 350. In med. bowl combine flour, cinn, baking soda, powder, salt and nutmeg. Set aside.

In another bowl combine sugar, shredded apples, oil, banana, and lemon. Mix well. Add the dry mix to the apple mix. Stir just until moistened. Fold in the apple chunks.
Spoon batter into your greased pan and bake at 350 for 55-60 minutes. Let it cool for about 10min before you remove it from the pan.
