I was walking around a street market yesterday in Fremont and found a vendor selling lots of random stuff (as most street market vendors do). This table had typewriter keys, watch faces, old postcards, even broken doll parts. (I’m not going to lie and say that the broken doll parts didn’t freak me out a little bit.) But the section that intrigued me the most was the stacks of old school vocabulary cards. These particular cards contained synonyms, and gave the same sentences for each word. As I was leafing through them, the one that caught my eye was the card that had the words ‘hinder’ and ‘obstruct’. The sample sentence was ‘If you cannot help, do not hinder.’ and ‘If you cannot help, do not obstruct.’ I thought to myself, ‘this is perfect for a kitchen!’ So I paid my $2.50 and had myself an art project.

I had a picture up in my kitchen already, so using that frame, I cut up a paper bag, did a little centering and straightening, and hung it on the wall to observe my work. Here’s what I got:

The frame is about 21″x16″, so it’s decent size. Big enough for someone who is ‘hindering’ or ‘obstructing’ in my tiny kitchen to get the idea and leave.

I like how it turned out. At first I wasn’t sure about the paper bag, since it wasn’t completely wrinkle free, but I think it gives the background texture and body. I also like that the black frame draws out the black letters.

Thoughts?

Here’s a hint for a future post (hopefully)–I got two things at this table so another ‘project’ is at hand!! Let’s see how long it takes me to get it done though.

