I know on this blog I say “I love …” or “I [heart] …” or “This is my favorite …” a lot. I would probably fall into the camp that overuses the word love. But right now, there are two things that I would qualify as “loves” in my life.

LOVE #1. NEEDTOBREATHE’s “The Outsiders” album. Yes, I just mentioned them a few weeks ago, but they are worth the extra mention. This album is my absolute favorite right now and between listening to it at work, while working out, and while driving with my windows down (it reached 65 degrees in Seattle! FINALLY!), I don’t even know how many times I’ve listened to this album. I saw them in concert on Friday night and despite standing for 4+ hours in shoes that offered zero support, the show was phenomenal. They were just as good live as on their album and their singing “Washed by the Water” completely acoustically was a treat. All right, I’ll stop gushing and just link you to their web site so you can hear their sound for yourself.

LOVE #2. Toffee Drops. The other day I went over to my aunt and uncle’s house and immediately had my hands in the cookie jar (i.e. tupperware). And before I knew it, I had scarfed down savored three of these little beauties. Of course, I just had to copy down the recipe and try to make them myself. My, oh my. Are these delicious! While the mini chocolate chips and the English Toffee bits add to the recipe, I think the almond extract is really what sets these cookies apart. They cool to be crunchy with just enough chew and they are settle down to be thin and wafer-like, but in a good way. They are airy but still packed with flavor. Just one bit of advise though: make sure you either have a good sense of self control or are going to be sharing these cookies as soon as they come out of the oven because if left to your own devices, I guarantee you will not be able to resist snatching up as many of these as you can for yourself. Case in point: I took these to my part-time job and they were gone within ten minutes. Not only that, but I had a 65-year-old gay man propose to me and someone else say these were the best cookies she’s ever had.

(Oh and if you do plan on sharing these, you will have plenty! If you follow the recipe and actually make 1 tsp drops, you’ll end up with 8 dozen little magical rounds. Mine were a little bigger than called for and I ended up with about 3 ½ dozen.)

Here’s a picture of the magic that is awaiting you (pardon my lack of food photography skills):

All right, enough of this fuss. Let’s get this recipe in your hot little hands!

Toffee Drops

(RVP’s title: The BEST Cookie Ever)

2 ¼ c flour
1 t baking soda
1 t salt
1 ¼ c  butter – softened
1 c brown sugar
¾ c granulated sugar
1 t almond extract
2 eggs
1 bag (12oz) mini chocolate chips
1 cup (6oz) Heath Toffee bits (or you can just throw the whole bag in!)

  • Sift flour, baking soda and salt together. Set aside.
  • Beat butter, eggs, sugars, and extract in large bowl until creamy.
  • Stir in flour mixture with wooden spoon.
  • Stir in chocolate and Heath bits.
  • Drop dough by rounded teaspoons 2 inches apart on ungreased cookie sheet.
  • Bake 375F for 8-10 minutes.
  • Cool on wire rack.

Okay, now I’m off to the gym to work off the five pounds I gained this weekend from these blasted cookies!

