I’m sure I’ve read Psalm 73 before, but only recently have I really taken it to heart. My pastor spoke on this psalm during our Thanksgiving Eve service and I spent some more time reading and studying it during my devotion time over the weekend.

Here are some of my favorite verses from this psalm (from the English Standard Version):

v. 16-17: But when I thought how to understand this, it seemed to me a wearisome task, until I went into the sanctuary of God; then I discerned their end.

How often I have compared my life to others’, asking myself “why are they successful in that area, when I fail?”, “how come I don’t have this yet, but they do?”, etc. But when I look at the world and wonder God’s work in it, I can’t answer those questions. Good things happen to “bad” people, and bad things happen to “good” people. If I try to figure it out, I will go around in circles. It’s only when I enter the sanctuary of God’s love (which should be all the time!) do I find peace, do I find discernment. The lives I’m looking at aren’t meant for me. I will only find pleasure in the sanctuary of God.

This leads me to these verses:

v. 25-26: Whom have I in heaven, but you? And there is nothing on earth that I desire besides you. My flesh and heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.

Really, this kind of sums it all up. Who do we have besides God? What else can we desire that will fill us up more than the love of our Savior and Lord? I’ve been repeating “My flesh and heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever” whenever I see my face breaking out, or my hips are getting bigger than I’d like them — our bodies will fail, our friends and family will fail us, they are bound to. They are flesh. But when my trust and strength are found in the Lord, I will be satisfied and will be filled.

These verses have been such a comfort to me over the last week as I worry and become anxious about the future. I remind myself that all the things I desire for my life are nothing compared to the desire to be in the presence of my Father and to find refuge in the shadow of his wings (Psalm 36:7).

