Buffalo Exchange is essentially a consignment shop for the younger generation. No grandma’s fru-frus here – nope, just trendy and hip “experienced” clothes. Some things are a little “too hip” if you know what I mean – like the 80’s garb, neon sunglasses, skull t-shirts and the like, but with a little bit of weeding, you can find some great finds.

I got a pair of Citizens of Humanity jean capris for $20 this summer along with a t-shirt that I wear all the time. I went in yesterday on the scout for some work-type clothes. I actually wasn’t holding out much hope since some of the “overly hip” things wouldn’t be appropriate for work, but I went in with an open mind. And, oh am I glad I did!!

First up was a pair of brown wool Banana Republic trousers. They fit nicely, were long enough (!) and were pretty flattering – the price tag? $17.50. Done.

Second was a top that is more summery than fallish, but was absolutely adorable. I don’t really know how to explain it – it’s sheer, so a tank or cami is necessary, it has a light gray and blue pattern and cinches in the center, so it’s flattering and waist slimming. Six bucks. Sold.

And now, the crème de la crème. As I walked into the Buffalo Exchange yesterday afternoon I had no idea I would be getting the bargain of the year! Okay, so here’s what went down. I ventured over to the pants rack, weeded through the capris, the jeans (I do NOT need any more jeans, as much as I want them) and came across a pair of 10 Long Gap Khakis (yes, LONG!) and to top it off, they still had the price tag on them! NEVER WORN! Cool, I thought. Added them to the pile and weaved my way to the dressing rooms.

On went the khakis. “Hmm,” I thought to myself, “these might work. They are a little long, but a small heel would take care of that. I wonder how much they are.” Reaching around to the tag, I read $14.00. But wait, what’s that little red stamp on there? 50% off? “Sweet, $7? I can do that,” I thought.

But it doesn’t end there.

I turned in my rejects to the dressing room guy, and moseyed on over to the checkout. Apparently on this day, on this rainy Sunday afternoon, the 50% off stamps actually meant 75% off! So what’s 75% of $14.00? $3.50!! Can you believe it!? I still can’t believe it. I picked up a pair of BRAND NEW khakis for $3.50. three. dollars. and. fifty. cents.

I got three nice items for under $30! Wow. I love it when I find a bargain (or three!)! That’s not even a bargain; it’s a steal!!

