Music tends to play a big part in my life. Perhaps it’s my annoyance with silence, or maybe a bit of adult ADD, but I’m constantly changing up the tunes that fill my ears.

Considering that I’m in the car for at least an hour and a half each day, my desire to search out new stuff is normal and expected, right? RIGHT?! (Although there may be something behind the fact that I can hardly sit in a car without some sort of talking or music in the background?)

So, I’ve taken stock of the music that’s on rotation these days on my iPod and car stereo. Currently it’s a mix of old stuff (both Christian and country) and new stuff (more folky, independent tracks).

Let’s start with the old stuff. I came across an old Michael W. Smith CD in my CD bin the other day. I stuck it in and the memories came flooding back. “Go West Young Man,” anyone? How about “Friends are Friends Forever?” Or my favorite from the album, “Kentucky Rose.”

Then, listening to the local Christian station, this one is surprisingly still getting played:

Newsboys: Shine

That song most definitely reminds me of my childhood – I LOVED that song and would rewind the tape many times before I had enough.

The country stations still play some good ones – this one reminds me of junior high. Janae and I wrote down the words in order to memorize them—and yes, I still know ALL the words. And yes, I’m still proud about the fact that I know all the words.

John Michael Montgomery: Sold
Please ignore the quality of this video — it was the only one I could find.

But now on to the new stuff.

I’ve mentioned Brooke Fraser a few times in the past, and I’m going to mention her again, because well, she’s amazing! I already had her Albertine album, and recently downloaded her older album, What to Do With Daylight. Here’s my favorite from this album:

Brooke Fraser: Without You

Another great album I downloaded (from the suggestion of my friend, Elana) is Jon Foreman’s Limbs and Branches. Jon Foreman is the voice between the Christian band, Switchfoot and has released a few solo EPs and albums. It took me a couple listens to really fall in love with this album, but now I have a few favorites on it, including this one:

Jon Foreman: Behind Your Eyes

So there you have it, the music collection that been in my ears lately. I’m sure in a couple months I’ll update this list. Yeah, that whole adult ADD thing.

