I’ve been open to trying some new things lately. Some I am on the fence whether I will continue to buy and others I am hooked.

Note: you’ll notice several skin care products in this list. Please keep in mind that I usually don’t buy this many cosmetics, things just usually tend to finish up all at the same time! Another reason though is because I’m slowly transitioning my skin care products to be less chemical and more natural and/or organic. My thought of late is that if I’m so concerned about not putting chemicals in my body through the food I’m eating, why am I not concerned about what I’m putting on my body. Hence, you’ll see several natural skin care products that I’m trying out.

On the fence about:

Zico Coconut Water: A friend of mine recommended this to me and I’m still debating whether I like it or not … it’s just well, weird. I tried the Mango flavor first and actually didn’t mind that, but the natural (plain) isn’t quite as appealing. To describe it, I’d say it has a “flat” flavor – it’s not sparkling or fizzy or anything, it’s just there. You may be wondering why in the world you would drink coconut water in the first place. Well, apparently it’s “Nature’s Sports Drink” and contains more potassium than a banana, is low in calories and is a great hydrating drink. My vote – I’d buy the mango flavor again, but probably not on a regular basis. (If you’re interested in trying this, you can find it at a natural health food store in the refrigerated beverage aisle.)

Organic Apoteke Active Face Hydrating Gel: I switched my moisturizer to Organic Apoteke after chatting with an organic salon in my neighborhood. I’m not completely sold on this yet though. My skin has been going through a phase, so I’m going to be trying it out for a bit longer. I like this line of products though, so I may explore a bit more within it.

Will be coming back for more:

Sharpie Pens: finally Sharpie has come out with a pen! A pen that doesn’t leak through paper, doesn’t feather when you write and it just overall fantastic. If you guys know me at all, me and pens have a very special relationship. Basically, I love them and I’m super picky about them. So the fact that I love these is saying something.

Mrs. Meyer’s Clean Day Products: I love me some cleaning products! Especially cleaning products that are simple in their make and good for the environment. Enter Mrs. Meyer’s Clean Day cleaning products. The Basil scent is my absolute favorite (you may be asking “basil, really?” … yes. Trust me.) I currently have their hand soap, concentrated all-purpose cleaner, laundry detergent and countertop spray. They clean well, are earthy friendly and smell great! (Unless you get the scent free, then you’re out of luck.)

Boxum Lips by Bare Escentuals: I picked this product up at Sephora because I liked the color (and believe me, it’s hard to find a color that looks good on my pale face!). It was only after I tested it on my lips that I felt the tingling. Apparently Boxum Lips gives you “healthily plumped lips for the look of fuller, more voluptuous lips.” Hmm… I’m not so sure about that; I just liked the color.

100% Pure Pink Grapefruit Glow Lip & Cheek Tint: this is another lip color that I got but the thing I like about this product is that is doubles as a cheek color – so it’s a great pick me up in the afternoon. It tastes good too – it’s a natural throw back to Bonne Bell LipSmackers (a bit more expensive though!).

Nature’s Gate Tea Tree Lotion: I have always had really dry legs that are sensitive as well – in other words, I’d want to put lotion on my legs, but my legs would rebel against all forms of lotion by itching uncontrollably and breaking out in a rash – not fun, believe me! That is until I tried Nature’s Gate Tea Tree Lotion. I learned about Tea Tree Oil when I got my nose pierced and a friend mentioned that dabbing this essential oil on my nose will help in the healing – and by golly, it did! It’s been used for ages to help heal cuts, scrapes, and the like. And apparently helps dry, sensitive skin as well!!

Silver Goat Chevre (goat cheese) or the Trader Joe’s brand is fine too: I used to hate goat’s cheese. That is until my doctor said I could no longer have cow’s cheese (or any form of dairy for that matter), yep, I’m lactose intolerant. It’s a tragedy, really.  But having been forced to use goat’s cheese instead, I can’t seem to get enough of it! I use it on pizza, in omelets, salads and my personal favorite—spreading it on warm toast.

Phew! Who knew I was trying so many new products! I didn’t until I made a list before writing this and I’m astonished I’ve introduced so many new things in my life! And I thought I was a creature of habit.

I hope you have a chance to try some (or all?) of these products! I’ll let you know if I find any other great products to recommend!

