This post is taken from my sister’s blog, but I wanted to post it here since my sentiments are the same. I hope my children have a family that extends beyond blood relations like I was blessed with. 

The Sunday before the wedding, I was able to help throw a bridal shower for Anna. The guests were women who are friends of my mom, and, obviously, friends of my sisters and me as well. Before we started we went around the room and added up the years of marriage between all the women. 12 women were married and combined they represented 251 years of marriage! That’s an average of 20 years of wedded bliss. It’s unfortunate that this is not the norm in today’s society. However, my sisters and I are fortunate to have these women in our lives. What an incredible example for us. This made me take pause and think a bit.

I think about the women who sat around that room. Each one of them I would consider part of my California family. These generous women surrounded our family and enveloped us during the toughest of times. While my mom grieved the death of my dad, they were her legs when she couldn’t stand. I don’t know if they know how much they mean to our family. Isn’t it true that during the roughest times you really realize who your true friends are? Which friends are going to hold onto the rock with you while the dark flood waters come, or which ones will simply let go and let the water take them away.

Now these women are rejoicing with my family as we celebrated Anna’s wedding. They also rejoiced with my mom when she got remarried. They rejoiced when my brother got married, and when my mom became a grandma x 3. And she has rejoiced with them when they celebrated anniversaries, weddings and grandbabies. These women have seen a lot and have shared a lot of life together.

I think about my family of friends. Some I have known for awhile and some for not as long. I have been to many baby showers where we have prayed for the little one that has yet to be born. In those prayers we pray for their parents but also for the future of that little life. We pray for the friends they will meet, the choices they will make and even for, Lord Willing, their spouses. It seems so far away to be thinking about our little ones getting married, but the shower reminded me of how fast time can go by.

Fast forward 20 or so years. I hope to be sitting in a room looking upon a bride-to-be knowing that I prayed for her before she was even born. I prayed that she would meet a Godly man with whom she would spend the rest of her life. Not only do I pray this for my daughters (or future daughter-in-law), but for all the sweet little girls whose lives I have been blessed to be a part of, even though I am half-way across the country. I also pray for the little boys’ future wives. I look forward to when I can add up my years of marriage, and celebrate with my dear friends that our many prayers were answered.

“I have no greater joy than to hear that my children are walking in the truth.” 3 John 1:4

